Nature As Medicine

Nature Heals!

elizabet eiler

(image, with thanks, from Elizabet Eiler)

Nature heals me better than anything else out there.

Give me some time to play in the dirt, dip in the creek, climb the hill, or ride an ocean wave and I’ll be okay.

Nature has always been my haven and my healing balm. I go to her when I’m weary and frayed by the woes of the world. I go to her to re-enchant my sense of wonder and refresh my sanity. I go to her to deepen my faith and rekindle my spirit.

wildwomansisterhood 2

These days I find myself  following this good advice:bigcitybelle.blogspot.com

(image from: http://www.bigcitybelle.blogspot.com)

Not chasing the news or endlessly checking my emails, not allowing myself to be swept up into anyone else’s drama or being drawn into chronic despair, is freeing so much positive energy in my life! I find myself creating more, caring more, sleeping better, loving more deeply, and being profoundly grateful for all the tiny joys in my life.

wildwomansisterhood

I start my days in the garden, marveling at the bees and birds and budding flowers. I find every opportunity to be outside playing. I love our camping adventures and time spent by the campfire under the dazzling stars. I love quiet. And stillness. And breathing deep.

nature

I’m an old hippie girl…barefoot and sun-dappled…a wreath of wildflowers in my hair…who has become an earth elder…an aged and seasoned gray haired crone devoted to taking care of Mother Earth.

medicine woman

I join the ranks of my heroines…

rachel carson

Rachel Carson

tasha tudor

Tasha Tudor

georgia o'keeffe

Georgia O’Keeffe

dian fossey

Dian Fossey

temple grandin

Temple Grandin

jane goodall

Jane Goodall

alice walker

Alice Walker

joy harjo

Joy Harjo

buffy saint-marie

Buffy Saint-Marie

and, most especially,

db86e31dabd9efbbf015c0babb51a794

Wangari Maathai

in caring about the planet and putting my energy out there to uplift and celebrate others who join me in this work.

There are so many important causes to throw our energy into…and I am so pleased that our Creative Cottage tribe is actively participating in a huge variety of good works and consciousness raising activities about health care, children’s rights, immigration, and gun control. 

wommin power

I care deeply about all of these issues as well but, as an elder tribeswoman, one of my most important passions is being a nature steward, an earth tender, a voice for Mother Earth. I take this pledge every day…

oath

My work is to help protect and preserve our precious planet, to be an informed citizen, to share my concerns about global warming and the poisoning of our water, food, & air.

monsanto

My work is to keep my heart healthy so I can continue to  be an earth warrior.

My work is finding common ground, discovering ways we can agree, energizing people to feel they can make a difference, and reminding people they have the right (and responsibility) to raise their voices and insist on common decencies.  

forumactif

(image from http://www.forumactif.com)

Please find ways you can help…join me (and our Cottage sisters) in the struggle to make a positive, constructive, honest, hard-working, focused difference in our world…cuz…

give a shit

In solidarity,

In the spirit of peace,

In the hope that you will join me,

each of us in our own small way,

turning the prayer wheel

for a better world.

With Love and Commitment,

Kaitlin

woman power

© Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2017. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

6 comments on “Nature As Medicine

  1. Hi Kaitlin,

    Ah…so true… your words touched my soul also being a Nature Lover… and sentiments a healing balm for all of us!

    “May the Earth be gentle under your feet.”-Portuguese saying “Nature does not lie.”-Henry David Thoreau

    *Artgifters drop off-documentation: Mini-Canvas w/easel 1. Garden courtyard (on bench) @ by St. Philips (River/Campbell)-April 20 2 Arizona Oncology Center @ 2625 N. Craycroft-May 1

    Looking forward to seeing you and journaling class on Saturday!

    Much gratitude, love and hugs,

    Nancy

Leave a Reply

