Letting Go!

Learning to go with the floooooow…

aug blog 8

Image from http://www.artprojectsforkids.org

(Well, I’m trying!)

But sometimes life just throws you for a loop

and unravels all your well-woven plans.

Case in point?

My dear, caring, thoughtful friends wanted to throw me an amazing little 70th birthday party.

aug 2 blog 5

Image from the wonderful collection of Inge prints: http://www.ingelook.com

A date was picked, a place was selected, food & games were discussed.

It was going to be mermaid themed pool party at Lucy’s beautiful home.

marnie mermaid

Image from http://www.marnieismymuse.com

Mermaid Marnie was going to be in charge of festive activities.

Anne was gonna send out e-vites and keep the fuss to a minimum for me.

Sounded like a perfect plan.

I must admit,

at first I was scared.

I’m just not a birthday party type girl.

I hate all the fuss and (believe it or not!) I’m excruciatingly shy.

But these wonderful friends persisted

and plans were rolling along…

frankly, I started to get a little tiny bit excited…

when BAM!!!

Life stepped in.

Unbeknownst to me, my beloved Albert had been hatching a plan

to SURPRISE me

with a week-long reunion with family & friends.

Talk about abundance,

count your blessings,

life is good!

But whoops, what about the party???

aug 2 blog 4

Oh my gosh, my friends had worked so hard…what was I to do?

When it became clear that life had other plans for me,

I was forced to cancel the party

and proceeded to make travel arrangements.

aug 2 blog 3

Image: let go and enjoy the ride from Etsy.com

“Some people believe holding on and “hanging in there” are signs of great strength. However, there are times when it takes much more strength to know when to let go and then do it.”
Ann Landers

But there were bumps and tangles–

getting a whole raggle-taggle family together 

via planes, trains, buses, yaks, and clown cars

is harder than it looks!

Like my sister Kim in North Fork,

too much of a good thing

can be just toooo much!

Kim volunteered to grow all the sunflowers

for her daughter Michelle’s September wedding.

She plotted and planned and consulted the garden fairies

and planted hundreds of sunflowers for the wedding.

But, because of screwy weather

(and, I can’t help but think, the wicked sense of humor of garden fairies),

the sunflowers are all blooming like crazy NOW

(waaaaay too early!)

sunflowers Kim

Sunflowers on Kim’s hearth

My take-away from all this?

We can make our big, luscious plans

but life sometimes has another script for us.

Our job is to make the best of it–whatever it is.

“Letting go helps us to to live in a more peaceful state of mind and helps restore our balance. It allows others to be responsible for themselves and for us to take our hands off situations that do not belong to us. This frees us from unnecessary stress.”  Melody Beattie

But, in a wonderful, ironic, and oh so comical twist,

when the dust settled and all the tickets were all in hand,

it turns out I’m leaving a couple of days AFTER my birthday.

So here’s the new plan…

I’m just gonna go with the flow…

relax, have fun, and celebrate my birthday with you all–

no big party, no big hoopla, just cupcakes and laughter.

aug 2 blog 2

Please come join me at The Creative Cottage on my 70th birthday, Saturday, September 17th, from 10 to 2 for a little cupcake celebration.

Pop in for  some tasty morsels, some delightful co-mingling with friends, and some hearty giggles at my expense.

Hope you can come!

aug 2 blog

Image from: http://www.facebook.com/ShutUpImStillTalking

Here is my new mantra–thanks to Lucy:

She Let Go

She let go. Without a thought or a word… She just let go.

She let go of the fear. She let go of the judgments.

She let go of the confluence of opinions Swarming around her head.

She let go of the committee of indecision within her.

She let go of all the ‘right’ reasons.

Wholly and completely.. Without hesitation or worry.. She just let go.

She didn’t ask anyone for advice. She didn’t read a book on how to let go. She didn’t search the scriptures. She just let go.

She let go of all of the memories that held her back. She let go of all of the anxiety …that kept her from moving forward.

She let go of the planning and all of the calculations …about how to do it just right.

She didn’t promise to let go. She didn’t journal about it.

She didn’t write the projected date in her Day-Timer. She made no public announcement ..and put no ad in the paper.

She didn’t check the weather report ..or read her daily horoscope. She just let go.

She didn’t analyze whether she should let go. She didn’t call her friends to discuss the matter. She didn’t do a five-step Spiritual Mind Treatment.

She didn’t call the prayer line. She didn’t utter one word. She just let go.

No one was around when it happened. There was no applause or congratulations.

No one thanked her or praised her. No one noticed a thing. Like a leaf falling from a tree… She just let go.

There was no effort. There was no struggle. It wasn’t good and it wasn’t bad.

It was what it was.. and it is just that.

In the space of letting go.. she let it all be.

A small smile came over her face.

A light breeze blew through her. And the sun and the moon shone forevermore.

from: Rev. Saphire Rose Ernest Holmes

let go

Image from Facebook/Zen To Zany

LOVE LOVE LOVE FROM KAITIE BUG

Learning (ever so slowly!) to LET GO!

© Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2016. All Rights Reserved.

6 comments on “Letting Go!

  1. I so enjoyed this blog. It made me laugh!
    So Happy Birthday early!
    My 70th is Oct 3
    Love ♥♡♥♡♥♡Morgan

Leave a Reply

