Be Careful What You Wish For!

aug blog 4

Summer in Tucson is not for wimps!

Months & months of three-digit temperatures.

Unrelenting drought.

A sun so searing you’d best be indoors most of the day.

Need I say I HATE it!!!

And that I shall never, ever, EVER get used to it?

But

(dragging my heels every dang-gum-step-of-the-way),

ever so slowly,

I am FINALLY embracing strategies to cope with Tucson summers.

monsoon 3

(Image from http://www.seanparkerphotography.com)

I get up a 5 a.m. to water the gardens & feed the critters–

(including our desert tortoises who are ravenous this time of year for big red, strawberry-like, cactus apple fruit!)

Breakfast Treats

All in all, it takes us several hours a day to keep our little ark afloat.

The demanding (but ho so rewarding) daily stewardship of WildHeart Ranch is our yoga, our zen, our passion.

When I’m not convening magic at The Creative Cottage or “rousting about with me friends,” on the few days a week I get to “just stay home & BE,”

I read books and make art and watch a good number of old black & white Turner Classic Movies.

One of my favorite treats is just taking a little moment to curl up with my Sweetheart and siesta for an hour in the hottest part of the day.

So I manage.

I tolerate.

I compromise.

But still…

my heart craves cool, green, wet, water.

heron pond

Recently, after too many one-hundred-and-ten-degree days,

I did a voodoo, heathen, pagan set of humble little prayers for rain.

I repeated the mantra, “rain, rain, come and play” several days running.

I chanted my poem

As If To Capture Rain

 the potter builds

            vessels of mud

like the swallow,

            like the wasp,

each a compartment of birthing,

            of deep sleep

remembering clay

            and moving water,

the mica

            skimmed from gilt.

rivers that carry the memory

            of rain

in their sluice

            through the country

of our waning seasons.

            there is more

to the story

            than that

but it is not told

            in words.

part of it is silence.

            part of it is music.

there are some tears.

            and a light that splits

the horizon

            into flames.

the birds speak

            of it

in trees

            and frogs sing

 of it

            in marshes.

the story is always told

            in the ancient manner,

with the palms

            thrust up,

as if to capture rain.

(Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2008. All Rights Reserved)

monsoon

(Image from Mike Olbinski Photography on flickr)

I called in the rain.

It’s all my fault.

Today, we got 2-and-a-half-inches

of lightning-laced,

absolutely torrential rain 

in a couple of hours!

Roads washed away.

Power went out.

It stranded people in rushing water.

It caused major havoc.

It was a real “gully washer”–

it was everything that defines “monsoon Tucson!”

But,

I swear,

I only wanted a gentle, slow,

three day-long,

deep soaking,

female rain.

I guess I learned my lesson.

Be careful (and specific!) about what you wish for!

Too much of a good thing, in this case, was waaaaaay too much of a good thing!

But, here’s the good news,

monsoon 4

(Image from: her-heart-on-fire.tublr)

So after a few days of mud and “skeetoes,”

after some clean up and regrouping,

there will be another glorious sunset,

desert sunset

(Image from: http://www.saguaropictures.com)

another day to be grateful,

and, probably, lots more reminders

to be careful

what you wish for!

Love & Lovely Rain from

Monsoon Kait

red bubber boots

© Kaitlin Meadows, 2016. All Rights Reserved.

10 comments on “Be Careful What You Wish For!

    • It’s part of my deluxe “Super Hero” package dear Marnie! I love the rain when I don’t have to be out driving in it or adjusting buckets under the leaks at The Cottage! “Rain, rain, come again, in soft little dollops that don’t wash WildHeart away!”

  1. Love the poem you little rain-maker. Uh-huh….specific requests….I hear ya. Lots of changes for me. I walked out on my job of the past 7 years. Things got so uncomfortable up there this time I said no more. So it’s “now what?” time for me. No answers or direction and I feel like I’m floating and spinning, unmoored yet not quite as worried as I should be and that worries me! Ha! I will have to check the roster and see what is coming up at the Cottage and come play soon. Love and blessings…..Kim

    Date: Wed, 10 Aug 2016 04:56:33 +0000 To: lmsonora@msn.com

    • What exciting changes in your life dear Kim! Can’t wait to hear what new adventures you’ll be on! Looking forward to spending more time in play and creativity with you! Love & Happy New Directions, Kait

  2. I loved your beautiful poem, your imagery carried me along, back in time, primal, to what the basics are – – wanting rain, collecting water, becoming one with nature again. You brought the rain through intention. Great story, thank you for sharing it. I’ve been on the West Coast all summer. I hope to reconnect with your artful energy in the Fall 🌼🌹🌸🌺🎶😊💜

Leave a Reply

