FRIDA KAHLO’S BIRTHDAY PARTY!

frida 7

Come Celebrate Frida at The Creative Cottage!

(Image from Artdecadence@etsy.com)

“I used to think I was the strangest person in the world but then I thought there are so many people in the world there must be someone just like me who feels bizarre and flawed in the same ways I do. I would imagine her and imagine that she must be out there thinking of me too. Well I hope that if you are out there and read this and know that yes it’s true I’m here and I’m just as strange as you.” Frida Kahlo

As many of you know, I’ve been fascinated by Frida Kahlo for years.

She was a woman of immense courage who dealt openly & stylishly with devastating health issues.

“Feet, what do I need them for If I have wings to fly.Frida

frida 19

(Frida’s prosthetic leg)

She had a complicated personal life, many tormented love affairs, and a world of critics who thought her art too intimate, too revealing.

“Since my subjects have always been my sensations, my states of mind and the profound reactions that life has been producing in me, I have frequently objectified all this in figures of myself, which were the most sincere and real thing that I could do in order to express what I felt inside and outside of myself.” Frida

She cherished her heritage by wearing her native costumes.

frida 17

She adored animals and they were constant companions in her life.

frida 23frida 24

She made a shrine of her life.

frida 13

Frida was wild, untamed, and utterly willing to be herself.

frida 9 muray

(photograph by Nickolas Muray)

When I find myself grumbling about some imagined setback in my own life,

I think of all Frida struggled with.

When I have doubts about my own art-making,

I think of Frida’s brave urgency to create–

even when a canvas had to be hung from pulleys over her bed!

“I am not sick. I am broken. But I am happy to be alive as long as I can paint.” Frida

frida 20

Frida painting with a Huichol admirer.

She spilled her soul out in her journals…

frida 15frida 21

and lived a colorful, art-full life, despite all odds to the contrary.

frida 18

frida 10

(Frida’s home at Casa Azul & her kitchen)

Frida inspires me every day!

Come celebrate this Saturday, June 11, 9 to Noon–our annual Frida Kahlo’s Birthday Bash & Potluck!

Come enjoy some Frida related art projects and the fun of celebrating Frida together! Bring something to share and a happy heart!

frida 16

(this beautiful image from Andrea Matus who has many exquisite Frida pictures!)

“I think that little by little I’ll be able to solve my problems and survive.” Frida

Love and Happy Frida’s birthday!

Kaitlin

Mistress of Merriment

With thanks to Pinterest for images!

© Kaitlin Meadows, 2016. All rights Reserved.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

