Renegades Forever!

june blog 3

Greetings from the Creative Cottage, where wild wimmin gather for loving support, outrageous fun, creative play, and joy sharing!

It’s gonna be another long, hot, sultry summer in Tucson–time to join the Creative Cottage sisterhood, a tribal community devoted to expanding our souls, sharing our stories, nurturing our spirits, and healing our hearts. Check out my summer Creativity Camp offerings under the tab for Creative Cottage classes and sign up quick–these classes fill fast!

I found this most marvelous advice from the awesome artist Chris Zydel that really resonates with my mission for The Creative Cottage:

“The creative process does not thrive very well in a vacuum. It needs to be witnessed and championed and cheered on to blossom and grow. And that is why in my work with my beloved students I continually cultivate circles of creative nurturance where artistic souls can come together to fortify and inspire each other to keep on creating.

I think it’s also crucial to recognize the difference between supporting someone’s creative process as opposed to ONLY their creative output. People need to feel that what they create has value… of course… but even more they need to know that what REALLY matters is the fact that they are engaged in the creative process. 

It’s always important to remember that ANY creative outcome is simply a by-product of doing the good and holy work of tapping into and expressing from your authentic creative source.”

june blog 4

It’s been a really busy time for me: my Girlz With HeART young women happily clamoring for summer “artivities”…several dear friends struggling with their own terrible health issues or the passing of beloved family members…the totally insane political climate…all of it so daunting! But I’m going through another amazing growth spurt (well, more accurately maybe, I’m FINALLY learning to embrace ancient wisdoms that I so urgently need to apply to my own life!)

To be fully human is to be wild. Wild is the strange pull and whispering wisdom. It’s the gentle nudge and the forceful ache. It is your truth, passed down from the ancients, and the very stream of life in your blood. Wild is the soul where passion and creativity reside, and the quickening of your heart. Wild is what is real, and wild is your home.”

~ Victoria Erickson

june blog 2

My dear friend PIMM turned me on to my new favorite anthem by the Ambassadors:

Renegades:

Run away with me

Lost souls and reverie

Running wild and running free

Two kids, you and me

And I say

Hey, hey hey hey

Living like we’re renegades

Hey hey hey

Hey hey hey

Living like we’re renegades

Renegades, renegades

Long live the pioneers

Rebels and mutineers

Go forth and have no fear

Come close the end is near

And I say hey, hey hey hey

Living like we’re renegades

Hey hey hey

Hey hey hey

Living like we’re renegades

Renegades, renegades

All hail the underdogs

All hail the new kids

All hail the outlaws

Spielbergs and Kubricks

It’s our time to make a move

It’s our time to make amends

It’s our time to break the rules

Let’s begin

And I say hey, hey hey hey

Living like we’re renegades

Hey hey hey

Hey hey hey

Leaving like we’re renegades

Renegades, renegades

I learned the hard way from my acute health crisis last summer that I just can’t tolerate Tucson’s summer heat and must adopt the ancient wise-wisdom of all torrid cultures and embrace the siesta lifestyle.

My Beloved and I are getting up at 5 a.m. to water the gardens, attend to the critters, and accomplish a day’s work before breakfast.

This means a good nap in mid-day is essential and afternoons must be devoted to indoor adventures: reading, art making, music listening, movie watching, and sewing. The adjustment also means that we are on summer hours at The Cottage: classes will begin at 9 and be over by noon and there will be fewer of them so that you can practice siesta lifestyle too!

juune blog 6

(all images above borrowed with much gratitude from the fabulous Wild Woman Sisterhood site)

I shall be following my own good advice and practicing Wild Woman Medicine this summer.

Jane Kenyon said: “Be a good steward of your gifts. Protect your time. Feed your inner life. Avoid too much noise. Read good books, have good sentences in your ears. Be by yourself as often as you can. Walk. Take the phone off the hook. Work regular hours.”

It is my plan to hunker down, let my She Bear self curl up in my own cool cave and estivate this summer.

I’ll be less out in the world, less available for outdoor activities, and very guarded about squandering energy

but I shall be singing the Renegades song loud and sweet…sing along!

June Blog

My goal will be once a week blog posts from my cozy, cool summer cave–

next week, pictures from the our wonderful Spoon Sisters class & a Frida Kahlo birthday remembrance…stay tuned!

Please check out summer Creativity Camp classes and come join me at the magical Cottage for cool summer FUN!

100_4913

Love Love Love from the Mistress of Merriment

Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2016. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

One comment on “Renegades Forever!

  1. This is awesome. Thanks, Kaitlin, for your wild heart and amazing spirit. Gonna go take a look at classes and see what I can join you for. Love ‘n blessings, Kim

    Date: Mon, 30 May 2016 19:12:38 +0000 To: lmsonora@msn.com

Leave a Reply

