ADVENTURES IN LIFE (AND BISBEE!)

today

I don’t know about you, but I’ve been a little slow getting started in 2016.

I often have no idea what the day or date is…

and I’m already behind on things I faithfully promised myself I’d do in 2016!

There is PLENTY to do

but I can’t quite get motivated to begin.

I have good intentions. I really do.

I make lists.

I have new daybooks…some quite pretty.

But, whatever the excuse–(and I have plenty of them, all very colorful!)–

I just seem stuck in neutral, coasting, hoping to get my second wind.

I’m calling this little “time out” to regroup a “well-spring moment”

As in, “Excuse me, I can’t possibly go to that silly board meeting, or sell your raffle tickets, or listen to even one more moment of your melodrama–

because I’m on a holy pilgrimage to my wellspring to replenish my life force.” 

I know it doesn’t sound like I’m doing anything–but, trust me, the wheels are turning.

And my wardrobe for this deep period of  metaphysical transition? Flannel  p. j. bottoms, an archaic paint-splattered t-shirt (three sizes too big), and fuzzy slippers. Attractive huh?

And the menu for this fraught journey tilts heavily toward the crunchy Cheetos and mashed potatoes end of the spectrum. Let’s just say, there are very few Brussel sprouts happenin’ over here.

But here’s what I’ve come up with…Be gentle with yourself. You’re fragile. You’re frayed. The holidays were wonderful but challenging. The world is falling apart. And, what about that barometric pressure?

Anyhow, while I hibernate a bit and ponder…here’s a little visual mini-vacation for you.

Won’t you come along with me, breathe in the air of adventure, and take a little weekend trip to Bisbee!

mural 1

Art abounds in Bisbee!

The architectural styles are amazing, the atmosphere is low-key and dog friendly, and the tiny town has not gentrified or glitzed itself up!

town

It has such an extraordinary history! The Bisbee Mining Museum is a great place to learn more…and please pay special attention to the Bisbee Deportation chapter–(we never seem to “get” that hatred and violence aren’t the answer to ANYTHING!)

wheel

My Sweetheart & I went up to Bisbee for a “stolen weekend”–between Thanksgiving and Christmas–

to just “get away” and re-enchant ourselves.

street art

 I used the delightful Annual Bisbee Altered Book Fair (held to benefit the Bisbee Community Library) as my “excuse”…

and the “altered” books were AMAZING–check this out:

altered book 2

and this beautiful butterfly made from pages of a library “discard” book…

book butterfly

We had a wonderful, peaceful, gentle weekend…

freshly ground coffee & shmeared poppy seed bagels…tasty meals in “working class” cafe’s…

plus my sacred tradition of visiting the Main Street thrift store crammed with cool junk.

Not to mention the eclectic art galleries!!!

art bee

We loved being tourists–just tramping around, stopping to roost and re-nourish as needed, going to bed early and getting up late!

Won’t you please try it…

Call it an “artist date” or a zen retreat or an important business meeting–but just go!

Get away, one over-night, get out of your element, be on an ADVENTURE!

alley art

And then come back to play at The Creative Cottage with cool wimmin who KNOW how to have FUN!

Happy New Year!

And remember…

bathroom mirror

Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2016. All Rights Reserved.

P. S. And here is my tip for the day: Make your dreams SMALL! 

(I get sooo annoyed with those “DREAM BIG” folks–my idea is to go joyously through my life celebrating a million small dreams that are coming true rather than waiting for the big “pie in the sky” dream to manifest itself! 

 

By thundermoonstudios

4 comments on “ADVENTURES IN LIFE (AND BISBEE!)

  1. Kaitlin I looove the idea celebrating small dreams! I think it would be a great tattoo! So I am going to suggest to my sinabun to tattoo it on his forehead so I can see it in the morning and when I go to bed. I will tell him it was your idea.
    I also love the Pooh quote and your get up sounds like my style. Only cozy clothes. No leather.
    Did you get my email for signing up for the last class or did I forget to press send?
    Love, peace and happiness to you, Audrey

  2. Thanks dear Audrey! Can’t wait to hear all about Costa Rica! Sorry that the Tizzy Bottom class is FULL so please pick another and I will keep you on the wait list for Tizzy Bottoms! The tribe misses you! Happy New Year! Love Kait

Leave a Reply

