LEARNING TO “GO WITH THE FLOW”

“It’s a joy full life. I believe when all else fails love always wins. I believe in practicing courage every single day. I believe kindness changes everything. I believe in telling our messy, complicated, beautiful stories. I believe nothing is wasted and everything shapes us. I believe in letting go and trusting the process. I believe we are all part of something beautiful, something bigger, something deeply, profoundly, astonishingly…good.”  Kelly Rae Roberts

river girl

 Lately I’ve been drifting down the river of my life on a little raft cobbled together with nothing but love and trust.

Things are shifting, the planet is whirling, the seasons are changing…but I’m on my little raft, happily watching it all go by.

 

Can you blame me! These late autumn days in Tucson have been spectacular!

The sunsets! desert sunset 2

We’ve had family and friends, “Outlaws & Orphans”,  in and out of WildHeart Ranch, sharing the love.

I’ve been tackling some long-procrastinated hearth-tending duties, significantly purging years of old boxes & getting rid of no longer applicable “stuff”  (including years of my paleontology lectures & research papers–what was I thinking holding on to that lost part of my life for so long?).

I’m also revamping the old garage that is my home art-making space (which I call The Vortex!) into an even more congenial place to disappear for hours.

I’ve brought out the mittens, put the garden “to bed” for the winter, and the tortoises are in for their long winter naps…

winter torts

I may even get the Christmas festoons out & set up this week…or, maybe not, depending on the “flow” of things…

Mostly, I am still just drifting quietly down my own river, admiring the view, taking in the beauty, unaware of time passing.

stop rushing

That is why this blog post is so late…and the December classes at The Cottage are just out…and all my newsy emails and phone calls to you have all but ceased…

because I’m drifting along, playing with new art materials, working in my art journal,

art journal 2

building a new rubber stamp rack,  stacking firewood, and napping with my Sweetheart.

nappin'

The quality of life is in proportion, always, to the capacity for delight. The capacity for delight is the gift of paying attention. May Sarton

Need I say this has been a wonderful autumn for me?

There have been day trips and movie matinees, local music and plays, and sunny afternoons in my yard under Mother Mesquite reading and dreaming with the winter cardinals chattering merrily!

winter visitor

But now it is time to get in gear and rejoin the circus!

Thanks for waiting for me on the shore while I have been happily drifting.

You will find new classes under the Creative Cottage Classes tab and I will soon be conjuring some delightful new classes, workshops, and Creativity Chix adventures for a glorious New Year at The Creative Cottage–STAY TUNED!

Meanwhile, remember in your own way to rest and re-charge, relax and re-enchant,

lazy river

and, always,  go with the flow!

“Your soul is a seeker, lover and artist; shape-shifting through archetypal energy, between your darkness and fields of light, your body and spirit, your heaven and hell, until you land in the moment of sweet surrender; when you, as a dancer, disappear into the dance.” – Gabrielle Roth

© Copyright, Kaitlin meadows, 2015. All Rights Reserved.

(Many images from Pinterest with thanks!)

By thundermoonstudios

2 comments on “LEARNING TO “GO WITH THE FLOW”

Leave a Reply

