JUST A QUICKIE

be happy 2

It’s been a long, hot summer! The Creative Cottage has been full of wonderful artists working on beautiful projects, the Girlz With HeART Summer Leadership & Creativity Camp served 68 amazing young women, and, somehow, WildHeart Ranch survived severe drought and much less monsoon than we needed!

And through it all, my Sweetheart & I stayed happily in love–just two old sillies!

old folks

But it’s time for a little break–

I haven’t taken any time off this summer and I’m a little frayed…

O–I’m not leavin’ town, going to some fancy resort, jetting off to Venice

venice

or, chasing the sunset in Costa Rica

costa rica sunset

(which, of course, would be my FIRST choice!!!)

Instead,

I’m just going to stay home and get the garden ready for fall vegetables…

stay home and clean out the closet (where in the world do all those clothes I can’t imagine ever wearing come from?)

Stay home and watch old Turner Classic movies!

I’ll do a lot of Virgo work–cleaning, sorting, organizing–on the theory that…

unclutter

In short, I’m just going to stay home and BREATHE…

cuz I need to remember to…

rest

I’m solemnly promise not to over-achieve in any way…I may not even get out of my pj’s unless it’s absolutely necessary!

I have a stack of library books, a pile of art supplies, lots of Netflix to watch, and no ambitions what-so-ever!

Which is not to say that I don’t have plenty to do.

The “to do” list is five pages long.

(There are projects en progress from a year ago!)

But what I’m going to do instead…

is make this little art smock

art smock

and a big pile of gelli plate papers for my art journals!

gelli

I’ll be “doing stuff”–just NOT the “HAVE TO” stuff!

My mantra this week  is…

more play

Please join me in whatever way you can–

find a few hours for fun, make a few hours for creativity, give yourself permission for a luscious little nap.

Just say,

“the Mistress of Merriment made me do it!!!”

4 comments on “JUST A QUICKIE

Leave a Reply

