I’M ON A ROLL!

 

 

 

life is short

 

 

I’m on a roll! I LOVE this balmy, sun-infused January weather in Tucson and it prompts me to get out and hike and play and just sit in the garden with my mind drifting…

AND I’m enthralled by a dozen new projects! I signed up for Life Book 2015 this year and am completely delighted with the prompts and assignments (more about THAT in my next blog post!) I find myself up at midnight, my Beloved sound asleep, the kitty Punkin’ curled up in my lap, making messy, beautiful, art!daisy yellow

AND I’m re-organizing my fabric and old textiles stash (yes–I collect all things “old fabric!”)–storing it all in a lovely old trunk laced with lavender.old trunk

 

AND I’m re-building the soil and re-energizing my garden in anticipation of spring (already!).Beach 14-12

 

 

… but, mostly, I’m just full of life and energy and happiness! Rumi

 

 

Last week I was soooo weighed down by all the dark elements in the world–(and, yes,  they are still all there, hovering, spreading their angst!)–but, this week, I am choosing (and remember it’s all about what we CHOOSE to focus on), I am choosing JOY! And creativity. And BEING with those I love, DOING what I love, and SPREADING my love lavishly! I’m giving myself permission to do all THAT instead of folding the laundry or washing my wonderfully dusty old Subaru or feeling compelled to check my emails.

I’m hangin’ out in my tattered old sweats and my favorite t-shirt…favorite t-shirt

 

my hair is like a bird’s nest, and (I just noticed) I have two different colored socks on! But I’M HAPPY!!!!

I am the living definition of the Japanese concept of Wabi-sabi. Do you know it? It’s an aesthetic centered on the acceptance of the “imperfect, impermanent, and incomplete. “ Some of its characteristics are asymmetry, roughness, simplicity, and economy–all hallmarks of my life & art. Here are some pieces of my clay work to illustrate!green dish 1wabi-sabi

 

 

Wabi-sabi is the celebration and appreciation of the ingenuous integrity of natural objects and processes that are NOT PERFECT. It’s my new religion!

So hello and hugs from Messy, Imperfect, Out of Shape, Rough Around The Edges Kait

Queen of Wabi-sabi

©Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2015. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

 

 

One comment on “I’M ON A ROLL!

Leave a Reply

