OUR FRAGILE WORLD

 

kaliThe news simply isn’t good. Terrorism, murder, mayhem. Incomprehensible hatred. Outrageous greed. Blizzard, famine, drought, deluge. Intolerance, ignorance, racism. These are the Kali times.

Sometimes my heart just splits open with pain. I find myself sobbing over the cruelty, the children killed, the planet ravaged. Frequently, I think there is no hope for us humans. Often, I feel, like my elders before me did, that the world has gone to hell in a hand basket and that we’ll never learn to embrace tolerance or practice peace.

And then…a rose I thought had long-ago died, blooms… bloom!or a wee hummingbird dashes to the feeder outside my kitchen window with sunlight glinting off his burnished emerald feathers, or a friend sends a handmade card that says “I love you even if you’re goofy,” or I meet a ten year-old girl battered by the world who is still so full of optimism and excitement about the future that my spirit revives and I regain my wild hopefulness again! It has been that kind of week.

kelly rae roberts 2 This is the work of Kelly Rae Roberts…and her message is clear.

“There is a light in this world, a healing spirit more powerful than any darkness we may encounter. We sometimes lose sight of this force when there is suffering, too much pain. Then suddenly, the spirit will emerge through the lives of ordinary people who hear a call and answer in extraordinary ways.” ― Mother Teresa

As Tucson remembers and celebrates its resilience from terrors of the past, as musicians continue to make music and poets continue to write poems and peace-makers continue to stand for kindness, and compassionate souls continue to tirelessly care for those wounded by war and disease… I remember that we all have a choice. We can wallow in grief, we can stoke our bitterness, we can join the perpetual “haters” or we can raise our hearts up to the light, desert scene 4 we can work to save the planet, and we can practice, practice, practice peacefulness in our own lives.

“Happiness belongs to those who are sufficient unto themselves. For all external sources of happiness and pleasure, are by their very nature, highly uncertain, precarious, ephemeral and subject to chance.” Arthur Schopenhauer

So, with your help, I choose to celebrate my life as an amazing series of miracles and joy-sparkled moments. I choose to nourish my capacity for compassion. I choose to use my energy to uplift hope and work toward a more tolerant world. And you help me with that mission every single day! By coming to The Cottage to share your stories, to exercise your creativity, and to build our friendships as sister allies. By donating art supplies for the Girlz With HeART Project. By doing what you can, in your own special ways, to be the bringers of light, the tenders of love’s flame, the givers of warmth in a cold world.

Thank You! I am honored to be a part of our loving, caring, generous tribe! Keep the faith. Stand in the light. Be a peace pilgrim. Radiate Love!Happy New Year

“Do your little bit of good where you are; it’s those little bits of good put together that overwhelm the world.” ~Desmond Tutu

P. S. Look for the new roster of February classes by clicking the Cottage Classes tab at the top of this post–we have a beautiful Creativity Chix Artist Date for Februaryvisiting Ben’s Bells to make bells and celebrate hope! Register for classes right this moment–January classes all sold out in a flash (Thank You, Thank You!!)

Sending you love,

Kaitlin, Still Full of Hope

© Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2015. All Rights Reserved.

 

4 comments on “OUR FRAGILE WORLD

  1. wonderful sentiments, again. I so love getting your blog. thanks!!!!! I’m going to forward this to my adult children. how is this possible? that our children have grown older than us?  at least mine have.  yikes! for some reason I have open time in February.  can I sign up for of these?:raggedy hearts feb 5thtarnished angels feb 14thben’s bells feb 20thstar book feb 21stsoul collage feb 27thinky-luscious feb 28thno prob if you think its too much…

  2. Very well said my friend….”be the bringers of light, the tenders of love’s flame, the givers of warmth in a cold world.” …like the way you radiate love….:-)…… “it’s all about the love” ……makes the world a better place….hugs and Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

