Kaitie The LadyBug Lady

 

 

buggie 2“The Ladybug wears no disguises. She is just what she advertises.

A speckled spectacle of spring, A fashion statement on the wing….

A miniature orange kite. A tiny dot-to-dot delight.”

~J. Patrick Lewis, “The Little Buggers

I LOVE Ladybugs! I always have.. and my nickname for most of my life has been “Kaitie Bug” so imagine my delight when my Sweetheart (who constantly surprises me with the best gifts ever!!) brought home a trillion ladybugs! bug bucket

Well, maybe not a trillion but, ye gads, look….oodles and oodles of ladybugs(1,500 if you’re counting!)oodles of bugs!

I had such a wonderful time spreading them around my garden one cool, recent morning…

“Lovely little ladybug sent from heaven above, please watch over my garden and fill it up with love.” ~Author Unknown

yikes!They were beautiful and lively and soooo eager to be free…

“This lucky little lady bug has landed here to stay To make my garden pretty and keep the weeds away.”  ~Author Unknown

bug on a leafIt’s the end of a very, very long, hot summer with more of its share of various “mercury in retrograde” misadventures…

but, finally,  the mornings and evenings in Tucson In November are luscious & cool…

the winter veggies and herbs are all planted and thriving and the ladybugs add such a dash of color and whimsy–who could keep from smiling!

“When strolling through the garden, If you should chance to see

A ladybug out walking,

Please say “hi” for me! For ladybugs are good bugs,

They help the garden grow

They will bring you good luck,

So always say “hello!” ~Author Unknown

ladybug lady 2I had such fun sprinkling them around on my pre-misted garden flowers as the autumn sun was just coming up…front 2and (I swear!) they seemed to be singing a happy song as they flitted around…

“I’m sending luck and wishes

All wrapped up in a hug

Good things should come your way

With this tiny ladybug. ~Author Unknown

It was such a beautiful surprise from my Sweetheart and made my day such a happy one…even Gus the dog seemed to love the delightful commotion!lady bug lady 3We love to shop at Siverbell Nursery (www.silverbellnursery.com) and my Beloved ordered them for me…to spread their beautiful, shiny, red-coated magic in my garden!front tubWhat JOY!!!–not only the ladybugs, but my Love Bunny himself, The Creative Cottage (and all of you who make it such a pleasure), and AUTUMN at last!!!!!!
buggie

“A small speckled visitor

Wearing a crimson cape

Brighter than a cherry

Smaller than a grape

A polka-dotted someone

Walking on my wall

A black-hooded lady

In a scarlet shawl.” ~Joan Walsh Anglund

It’s so easy to get caught up in all the chaos and war, the awful, mean-spirited political campaign negativity and the daily grinding news of a world gone mad…I find myself, more and more, needing the respite of the garden, the solace of my creative friends, the joy of my quiet domestic life to heal and nurture me. The ladybugs arrived just in time to remind me…

bougenvilla

“Oh ladybug, I wish you joy As you complete your garden chores. I’d like to put aside my work And join you in the out-of-doors!” ~Author Unknown

Lucky Ladybugs…Lucky Kaitie Bug!! Thank you my Sweetheart!
Happy Autumn To All!!!

autumn front yard

And remember…

“Hurt no living thing: Ladybird, nor butterfly, Nor moth with dusty wing.”

~Christina Georgina Rossetti

ladybug plush

 

Love, peace, laughter, and creativity heal so much!

P. S. Click the tab above on the top bar for  “Kaitlin’s Creative Cottage Classes” for a list of my November classes and come play!!!!

 

© Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2014. All Rights Reserved.

2 comments on “Kaitie The LadyBug Lady

  1. What a delight post about lady bugs….. I thought the ones they sell at garden centers were for eating aphids, Who knew that the little ladies could bring so, so, so much whimsy to ones day!

Leave a Reply

