Fabulous Fun & Creative Delights!

purple 7Hi There Funsters

Where the heck did February go??? I promised myself I’d blog more, plant the snow peas, finish a sewing project that has grown cobwebs sitting on my sewing table, and generally MAKE MORE ART! And all I succeeded in doing was having a wonderful month at The Creative Cottage with incredibly talented artists, camping with my Beloved, starting tai chi classes, and, YES!-MAKING MORE ART! I’m sooo thrilled to be working on my artists journalsiomh workthey are like a siren call every day…”come on over and play and paint and collage and absorb yourself for a few hours–never mind the laundry and the dishes–eat peanut butter and jelly on English muffins for dinner–just let your Muses run wild!” And I do! Art heals and nourishes and makes the world such a fun place to live!

It all started early this month with my “In Over My Head” groupIOMH Thanks 13–we call ourselves the Altered Art Divas and we meet once a month to make art, share a scrumptious potluck, and catch up on each other’s lives. We met at Dolores’s cozy home this month to make Valentines–check them out! IOMH HeartsDolores is an amazingly prolific artist–aren’t her hand made books beautiful! Dolores Handmade Books  I LOVE these women and all the fun we’ve shared over the years. I LOVE that we keep meeting and sharing our work and encouraging each other, through thick and thin!

All month my classes at The Cottage have been full of happy arty types who’ve been making my life a real joy with their enthusiasm and creativity. My third year anniversary of being the Mistress of Merriment at The Creative Cottage was such fun–two dozen women popped by to eat and drink and be merry! What a marvel it has been to me to be able to rent this little studio in a historic old Tucson courtyard and conjure up classes that have touched so many lives! Thank you all for being such vibrant, sassy, inspired dames and supporting the Creative Cottage!

Last week we shared a fabulous class called Creative Spiralcreative spiral 2creative spiral 13creative spiral 14creative spiral 9creative spiral 1creative spiral 6aren’t the results were amazing? Teresa is off to Australia and made her book particularly to capture all the delights of her journey!

And I have a whole new batch of fun classes scheduled for March & April (check them out and sign up quick–classes have been selling out like crazy!)

Finally, I really needed some new patio furniture and I was really fretting about the cost but my friend Ellie and I went thrift store shopping and guess what? A scruffy set appeared on cue–I painted it (you’ll note my favorite color!) and I think it looks smashing! new patio furnitureI LOVE thrift store shopping and have been so blessed that my friend Allison Allisonhas discovered some lovely finds that she’s donated to my Girlz With HeART Project–THANKS Allison and to all the magical angels who have donated art supplies and wonderful clothes for these “at risk” seven to twelve year olds who are creating  a better place in the world by improving their grades, stretching their hearts, becoming young leaders, and inspiring us all!

And, guess what, The Cottage had a lovely write up in the February 23, 2014 The Arizona Daily Star–thanks to Gabrielle Fimbres!

you can check out the story by clicking on this link–please note the photos! :  http://azstarnet.com/lifestyles/leisure/to-pinterest-or-not-to-pinterest/article_62b97f09-b033-591a-9c1b-951deca40c54.html

I’m incredibly blessed and you are a part of my blessings…Come on over to The Creative Cottage and get paint in your hair, make art, giggle with friends, and get a big hug from me–Kaitie, Mistress of Eternal Merriment! Kait With Freda

© Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2014. All Rights Reserved.

6 comments on “Fabulous Fun & Creative Delights!

  1. Wow !! Three years already. Whodathunk? In this often-sad world, the creativity and joy spilling out of the Creative Cottage are a gift and a blessing. I am so proud to be your beloved. Keep on keepin’ on with your wild women, and know that the joy is infectious — even to grumps like me.

    • Thanks Beloved for all of your unfailing support and unflinching encouragement and BELIEVING in me! Couldn’t juggle soooo many balls in thin air if I didn’t have your love to guide me and our little nest to shelter me and our amazing circle of friends to joy me!

  2. I would like to register for two classes — Word Weavers 3/29 and Bookmaking 4/19 Patricia Steele — I love you Mistress Of Merriment! 745-6366

Leave a Reply

