The Arty Archaeologist!

“To pay attention, this is our endless and proper work.” ~May Oliver

“Artists, poets–whatever you want to call those people whose job is “making”–take in the commonplace and are forever recognizing it as worthwhile. I think I am always collecting in a way–walking down a street with my eyes open, looking through a magazine, viewing a movie, visiting a museum or grocery store. Some of the things I collect are tangible and mount into piles of many layers, and when the time comes to use these saved images, I dig like an archeologist and sometimes find what I want and sometimes don’t.” Corita Kent

stoves 1

I’m an old archaeologist–always digging around in the debris of life, love, and human experiences, looking for any magic I can glean. Recently, my Sweetheart and I went on an “explore” to the Bes Ba Gowah Ruins in Globe. We made a stop to visit an old mansion, the Picket Post House, being refurbished on the edge of the Boyce Thompson Arboretum, where we learned a little bit about the history of the household through the old, cast-off stoves in the weeds outside. I love this sort of adventure and never tire of stumbling across things that aren’t on the “official tour.” I’ll sprinkle some pictures through this blog posting so you can have a glimpse too!stoves 2

I am soooooo happy to report that 2014 has started with lots of fun and excitement at The Creative Cottage! I’ve enjoyed a wonderful wave of full classes and hours of happy creativity with you, my friends! I’m finding myself re-inspired and more enthusiastic than ever about offering a nurturing space for Muses to come play, make art together, share stories, and support each other though all of life’s challenges. I love that this daring adventure that I began on a wing and a wild prayer almost three years ago has been such fun for me and a couple hundred lovely ladies who have come to play at The Cottage over the years!

I recently came across this quote which really inspires me:

“People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life…I think that what we’re really seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonance within our innermost being and reality, so that we can actually feel the rapture of being alive.”
~Joseph Campbell stove 4For me, that’s what life is all about! Just being able to spend time with you all at the Creative Cottage playing happily together, making art, and sharing snippets of our lives! Art making has really helped me refine my attention and block out all the petty worries and little annoyances of everyday life. I can get completely swept away making art–sometimes I look up after what I presume has only been a few minutes to discover hours have raced happily by and I LOVE that feeling of getting lost in the fun of making something! stove 6Like these old stoves, I feel I’m always experimenting, changing things around, trying something new. One day, I know I’ll have a creative “stove” big enough to cook up all my wild artistic ideas and crazy cool plans…stove 3

but meanwhile, I’m just going to keep on cookin’–adding delicious ingredients, stirring the pot, slowing simmering the magic brew on whatever stove I have…inviting you to come sit at the feasting table of shared merriment with me at The Creative Cottage!

Come on over–the tea kettle is always on and laughter always spills out of The cottage to greet you!

Check out my scrumptious February classes by clicking on the classes bar on the top of this page…call quick to register–classes have been selling like hotcakes (teehee!)

© Kaitlin Meadows, 2014. All Rights Reserved.

One comment on “The Arty Archaeologist!

  1. Thanks everyone for the very quick sign-ups for my February classes! Friends are inviting friends to come along to play at The Cottage and already most of my classes for February are almost full! You rock! We’re gonna have a fabulous month and it’s my third anniversary at the Cottage–let’s party!

Leave a Reply

