Love Letter To My Beloved

Grumpy Old ManThis is the sign on our front door…you’d be surprised how it deflects both door-to-door salesman and rogue missionaries! And it’s only partly true. My Sweetheart Albert is a joy-filled, young-at-heart, playful, funny, delightful man who does not suffer fools well. He is mostly patient, tolerant, compassionate, and kind…BUT, if you’re mean-spirited, gossipy, arrogant, self-centered, or any way bigoted, you’d best NOT knock on our door!

After discovering that some of the life-partners I picked early in my life were lacking in the various virtues I admired most (intelligence, kindness, good humor, compassion), I felt like the luckiest woman in the world when Albert Albert & Lasagne and I found each other on an archaeology project in 2000. I joke that he saw me at my worst and my best–four feet under ground in a 3 foot by 3 foot excavation unit, grubby, sweaty, and grinning like crazy at the wonderful adventure of pursuing my passion–archaeology. We share that passion–and so many others (blush, blush!)…Camp CookAnd he’s one of the smartest, kindest, FUNNIEST people I’ve ever known…our life together has been the very best part of my life!

My Dad always said you could tell a lot about a man if he was a good camper or not…that is, could he build a fire, cook over it, keep you warm and dry, be of good cheer even when the weather went bad or someone forgot to pack the matches? And Albert is that guy…he absolutely SHINES camping–the fire gets started even with wet twigs and he’s a great camp cook, stirring up delights as he whistles a happy tune. At home in the wilds, Albert is the original Nature Boy! My Dad would be grinning to know I ended up with a Good Camper! And so am I!Campin' With gusP.S. AND he really knows how to RELAX–a virtue I have only begun to cultivate! He can sit in a lawn chair with a good book, our happy dog Gus beside him,  with a big ol’ grin on his face, and NOT feel guilty about all the things on his “to do” list! He has sooooo much to teach me! And I’m an eager and enthusiastic student–Kaitlin A'Bloom Autumn EquinoxLife is beautiful and I AM the luckiest woman in the world because I have the love, respect, and affection of one smart, sweet, silly, sexy “grumpy old man!”

© Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2013. All Rights Reserved

6 comments on “Love Letter To My Beloved

    • Hi Anita~
      No, I host an “Orphans and Outlaws Thanks-Giving Celebration” each year and spend this holiday with friends and family–away from all the bustle and commerce! Hope you can come to my Open House Holiday/ Winter Solstice Celebration at The Cottage on Saturday, December 21st, 1 to 3 pm–it’s a lovely time to gather and celebrate our creative circle. See you then? Love Kait

  1. Aw shucks…Kaitlin brings out the best in me, and that is not always easy. Thank you sweet woman, for what you said and who you are. I love you.

    • Ain’t it the truth Jo!–I once had a handsome, dashing boyfriend who had a fancy-dancy car and dressed to the nines–one day, on the way out to the country for a picnic where he was going to ask me to wear his class ring (an archaic custom of engagement) we got a flat–not only did he have NO CLUE how to change a tire, he was afraid to get his new Gant shirt dirty. I fixed the flat, ate the picnic lunch, and said, “thanks but no thanks” to the ring…and I’ve never looked back!

Leave a Reply

