WHOOOOOSH! What A Great Week!

Hello Funsters~

I’ve just had the most amazing week! Don’tcha just love when you discover that someone you thought you knew  surprises you with a hobby or a talent or a special interest that knocks your sox off? Well…I hope I can be that someone for you this week!

Most people know me as a mild mannered Mistress of Merriment at The Creative Cottage–teaching creativity classes and making art. Others know that my background includes hospice nursing, archaeology, dry land gardening, wildlife tracking, creative writing, and being a mom, grandma, and wife. Some know that I’m President of StoryArts Group, Inc., the fine local folks who bring the monthly Odyssey Storytelling series to Tucson, and that I’ve told stories to adults and kids for years.

story close 13On Friday night, I joined my wonderful friend and amazing sidekick Penelope Starr Penelope 11-13at Antigone Bookstore for a wonderful evening of fun and entertainment telling stories. Antigone is our very own independent, solar powered, groovy bookstore on our famous, funky Fourth Avenue and they have provided us an opportunity to do these shows every autumn for the last four years–it’s become a wonderful tradition for us!story sign 13We called it Imaginary Stories (That Just Could Be True): an entertaining evening of mirth and mischief telling fanciful stories, tall tales, and outright lies! Thanks to all of you who came out to support us! There was an over-flow crowd and people really seemed to have as much fun as we were having! 

story crowd 13We told stories from our own lives–some true and some “not so” and the audience got to guess which were which…of the dozens and dozens of folks there not one single person guessed all of them correctly–which either means we’re GREAT storytellers or horrible liars! But we had a blast and thanks again to Antigone for the pleasure of another wonderful evening!story ooo 13So, you’d think, that was all the fun one dame could handle in a week huh? Wrongo, Wrongo.

Last Saturday, I was able to fulfill a “bucket list” dream thanks to my beloved Albert’s surprise gift. I got to drive a real Nascar race car! race car 1I LOVE fast cars and have always been a “gear head”–my Dad was the sort of guy who could fix anything and he taught me all about cars & engines. He taught me that knowing how an internal combustion engine worked was cool–and looooong before “women’s lib,” he insisted I know how to change my own oil & spark plugs. He taught me to love tools and respect their use, to play fair and work hard, and to be an honorable but fierce competitor. I’ve been eternally grateful to him for this legacy of empowerment and couldn’t help but believe he was my co-pilot on this adventure, even though he passed away over a year ago now.

In the early days of my “racing career” I drove an old, beat up,  souped-up Chevelle Super Sport at the Imperial Raceway in El Centro, California. It was a rough and tumble dirt track and loads of fun but I’ve always dreamed of driving a high-powered Nascar style race car…so I DID!!!! race signI got suited up… Race suitGot my helmet and wriggled into the car…car windowin carAnd then I put my foot to the floor and raced around the track like I was a Nascar super star! It was an absolute blast! I didn’t crash–I didn’t pee my pants–and I had sooooo much fun!car waveWhat a week!!!!!! I’m still in such a happy mood!

P. S.

For those of you who think Nascar is just plain hill-billy crazy–in today’s prestigious New York Times, there was an article about the great American poet Billy Collins, who has graced our own Tucson Festival of Books  to the delight of his legions of fans, and HE admitted to being a rabid Nascar fan. ( New York Times/ 11/17/2013: an article by Kate Murphy: Billy Collins)  I rest my case.

Vroooooom Vrooooom Beep Beep!

Check out my new December class schedule by going up to the top banner and clicking on “Creative Cottage Classes” and come join me for some relaxing fun!

© Copyright, Kaitlin Meadows, 2013. All rights reserved.

6 comments on “WHOOOOOSH! What A Great Week!

  1. The mini-tin book boxes session was such fun and I worked on finishing mine yesterday. Loved being at the Cottage again and connecting with creative women and hearing about your Girls with HeART and Nascar!!!
    Thank you Kaitlin, for all you do creating and serving.
    Judi

  2. you look so COOL in the Nascar jump suit….you go girl…..
    next time you visit could you look at my engine…..there is a knocking sound ?…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

